Frequently Asked Questions for Georgia 30 Hour Driver Education Course
Does this course apply to getting a license at 16?
The Georgia 30 Hour Driver Education course is approved by the Georgia DDS to satisfy the 30 hour classroom driver education requirement under Joshua’s law. Students are also required to complete 40 hours of supervised driver training (which can be done with a parent or legal guardian).
Can I get an insurance discount for taking this Georgia driver education course?
Yes, Insurance companies do offer discounts for students under 25 completing driver education and training in the classroom or online. However, you will have to check with your insurance company for a complete list of requirements to qualify for a discount.
Can you earn a tax credit for taking a Georgia driver education course?
Yes, parents or guardians are eligible for a tax credit in an amount up to a $150.00 if their dependent minor child successfully completes a course through a private driver education school that is licensed with the DDS. A copy of the Certificate of Completion and proof of the fees paid for the course will be required to qualify for the credit. The amount of the credit is equal to $150.00 or the actual amount paid, whichever is less. Courses taken at private or public high schools do not qualify for this credit. Check with the Department of Revenue for more information.
How long do I have to complete the course?
You have 90 days from the date of registration to complete the course.
When I graduate, when do I get my certificate and what do I do?
You will receive a certificate of completion by email 1 to 2 business days after you graduate. Once you receive that email, print out the certificate, and take it to the driver's licensing office along with the other required forms and paperwork when you apply for your license.
What else do I need to get my license at 16?
For a Class D license in Georgia, the following applies:
- Must have a valid learner’s permit that has been held for one year and one day from its issuance.
- Must be in compliance with Joshua’s Law.
- Applicants must make appointments for on-the-road driving test. Appointments should be made up to 90 days in advance. Reservation numbers are: (678) 413-8500 select option 3 or Toll-free (866) 754-3687 if dialing from an area code outside the metro-Atlanta area.
- Social Security number is required to issue a permit.
- Applicants must have an affidavit signed by a parent or legal guardian stating the applicant has had at least 40 hours of on-the-road driving training either privately, or 20 hours of on-the-road training in conjunction with a driver's education class.
- Parent or legal guardian must have a Georgia license or ID card and will have to sign for the applicant. If you have a legal guardian, the legal guardian must have a certified guardianship paper form the court or an adoption paper with an embossed court seal.
- A valid Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance must be signed and notarized from the applicant’s school. This certificate is only valid for 30 days. All applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or an attendance form from your local Board of Education if you are enrolled in an approved home school program.
- Applicants must have the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) card. Call 678-413-8747 for more information, or click here.
- Applicants must pass an eye and a driving test.
- The vehicle the applicant is going to be testing with must be properly insured, registered, have a valid tag and must pass a safety inspection. The applicant must show a valid insurance card at the time of the driving test. The test may not be taken with a rental car.
- The license fee is $10.00 cash, money order, check, or credit/debit card.
What is the Parent/Teen Driving Guide?
The Parent/Teen Guide provides suggestions for in-car lessons to help parents prepare their teenagers for the responsibilities of driving. This technical assistance guide provides parents with a systematic approach to teach their teenagers to make safe driving decisions. The suggested lessons progresses from the parking lot and neighborhoods, to light traffic and rural highways, to expressways and then to city driving. The Parent/Teen Driving Guide can be used in conjunction with to meet the requirements of Joshua's Law.
How do I complete the driving portion of the Joshua’s law requirement?
You can complete the 40 hours supervised driving with a parent by using the parent/teen driving guide:
Or you can sign up with a licensed driver training school in your area and complete the required training with a licensed instructor.